Council Leader praises successful Neath Schools Under- 11s rugby team

The Leader of Neath Port Talbot Council, Cllr Steve Hunt, has given his congratulations to the Neath Schools Under-11s rugby team which won the prestigious DC Thomas Bowl Final at Cardiff’s Princpality Stadium.

The young team defeated a Pembrokeshire Schools Under-11s side in a hotly contested, exciting final on April 26th, 2023, which saw the Neath team run out 20-15 winners thanks to a last minute try from Jackson Evans.

Highlights of the final, captured by the Welsh Rugby Union’s camera team, were widely watched on social media.

Cllr Hunt said: “This win was down to the hard work and dedication of the players, their coaches and their families throughout the whole season.

“Youth sport can teach so many values, including teambuilding, discipline, fairness and respect and it also lays the foundation for healthy lives.

“I want to thank all those who supported and encouraged this young team – they are a credit to the whole county borough of Neath Port Talbot!”

The team has thanked Neath RFC and the Neath RFC clubhouse for putting on an ‘after party’ following the Principality Stadium victory and has also thanked others for contributing to and volunteering for the team.

Neath Schools head coach Craig Fulford-Astley said after the game : “It was an unbelievable game and there was no deserved winner really. The game was really tight but I am super proud of the children. We have year five and six children in there so it is a real mix. We’ve had a tough season but we are very proud of what the children have achieved here today and what a try it was to win it at the end.”

The Neath Schools team was: Osian Morgan (YGG Castell Nedd), Zak George (Blaenhonddan Primary), Jenson Evans (Abbey Primary), Tomos Morgan (Cilffriw Primary), Jackson Evans (Maesmarchog Primary), Bobby Bramwell (Crynallt Primary), Isaac Parfitt (captain, YGG Blaendulais), Jacob Williams (Cilffriw Primary), Harrison Jones (Abbey Primary), Jack Thomas (YGG Castell Nedd), Mya Richards (Cilffriw Primary), Ioan James (YGG Castell Nedd), Olly Steinmann (Carreg Hir Primary), Cora Potter (Maesmarchog Primary), Harrison Morgan (YGG Castell Nedd), Luca Topper (Bryncoch CIW Primary), Charlie Evans (Coedffranc Primary), Flynn Roberts (YGG Castell Nedd).

We thrive on reporting on local and national news for the people of Carmarthenshire and an extended online audience. We are  free from commercial or political influence and we report without fear, favour or prejudice. We hold those in power to account. We provide all the news for free, for everyone to read. We do need your help to continue. For as little as £1 donation you can contribute to keeping local democratic reporting alive. Your contribution will enable us to keep the news machine going and ensure the future of local news for Carmarthenshire. Every contribution is welcome and will have an impact on independent journalism. We thank you in advance. Please donate here: Support Carmarthenshire News Online

You cannot copy any content of this page

%d bloggers like this: